The Sugarcubes – The Great Crossover Potential


Available on CD and Vinyl

Choose an option
The Sugarcubes - The Great Crossover Potential – CD
The Sugarcubes - The Great Crossover Potential – Double Black Vinyl

In stock

SKU: TPLP333-Variable Category:


The Sugarcubes – The Great Crossover Potential

14 track album on CD and DOUBLE Vinyl. Greatest hits compilation. Includes all the singles from the first three albums.

Emerging from the ashes of K.U.K.L., The Sugarcubes signed to One Little Indian in 1987. Fronted by Björk and Einar Örn Benediktsson, they gained international renown for the unique sound they cultivated, garnering fans such as luminary John Peel, achieving unprecedented success for an Icelandic band at the time and influencing the country’s music scene dramatically. 

Their debut album Life’s Too Good was released in 1988, including the hit singles ‘Birthday’ and ‘Deus’, and was followed by Here Today, Tomorrow, Next Week! a year later, and their last, Stick Around For Joy, in 1992. After the breakup of the band, the members pursued their own careers, with Björk’s solo endeavours achieving global success. The Sugarcubes reformed for a concert in Reykjavik in 2006 for the non-profit label Smekkleysa SM.

“The Sugarcubes came out of nowhere, ignored all recognised notions of “balance”, and briefly re-energised “indie” and “alternative” rock/pop with a spontaneous blaze of hyper-active twinkling, some Dali-meets-Dionysus escapism and a flicker of hope. Bjork may have been The Voice, but her troupe of Stuart Sutcliffes brought guts, wits and heart. The Sugarcubes melted opposition and stirred the blood.” – The Quietus

1. Birthday
2. Cold Sweat
3. Mama
4. Motorcrash
5. Deus
6. Regina
7. Pump
8. Planet
9. Water
10. Hit
11. Vitamin
12. Walkabout
13. Gold
14. Chihuahua

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

CD, Double Black Vinyl, Single Vinyl